George Hacks Faculty Advisor, Dr. Jason Zara, Is Awarded the 2020 Oscar and Shoshana Trachtenberg Prize for Teaching Excellence

This year the George Washington University celebrated its Tenth Annual Faculty Honors Ceremony. Every year, notable faculty members are selected from a variety of schools for their “extraordinary dedication to teaching, scholarship, and the university.” Hosted by the office of the Provost and the Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs, this ceremony aims to honor remarkable faculty members at GW.  Unfortunately, due to the coronavirus pandemic, live celebrations have been postponed, but award winners will still be recognized virtually. 

Several faculty members from the GW School of Engineering and Applied Science (SEAS) won awards during the virtual ceremony, including the Oscar and Shoshana Trachtenberg Prize for Teaching Excellence. Established in 1990 by President Emeritus Stephen Joel Trachtenberg, it is presented to a faculty member who demonstrates excellence in teaching, defined as “the accurate and effective communication to undergraduate students of important cultural, historical, or scientific material, as well as current scholarship and scholarly debates in the fields involved.” The award is presented to a professor nominated and endorsed by undergraduate students and their department respectively. 

This year, George Hacks is proud to congratulate Professor Jason Zara for winning this award. As a devoted member in the SEAS community, he has exemplified remarkable dedication to both GW and his students.  An accomplished engineer, Professor Zara has won numerous other awards, founded two start-ups, and holds seven U.S patents.  Additionally, he has worked for the last 18 years in developing medical imaging technology for detection of “epithelial cancers, epilepsy, and other human diseases”. Nonetheless, Professor Zara remains an integral member of SEAS, taking the time to mentor students and strengthen the GW Department of Biomedical Engineering.


Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>